Tricky T-day – closing doors

This still a work in progress, we doesn’t have the proper cue words in yet and I got a bit confused cos Auntie Penny gets all excited when we go round to grandpawents. But, here me, being helpful.

We started learning this at school. It uses a basic nose touch/target which can be taught pretty easily just by ‘capturing’ ie, marking (with a click, yes, good boy etc) and rewarding (with a treat) touching your nose to something, a hand or piece of paper for example. When you can do that well progress to a wall and lengthen the amount of touching time before you get a treat. For the other version, get your pawson to hold something which you can tug on and they can reward you for doing that. Best not to start on the door right away cos you want your pawson to be able to feel if you is tugging properly and not just trying to actually play tug!

~lickies, Ludo

pee ess: Don’t forget if you wants to come to my pawty in April, get your piccures in to ludovanpup-at-live.co.uk

21 thoughts on “Tricky T-day – closing doors

  1. Good job, Ludo! My mom has been trying to teach me this trick but she isn't getting anywhere at all. I think she gets some clues from you after reading it and I'm going to have clicks and treats soon! You're so clever!!!~ Eva

  2. Hooray for you, Ludo! Soon you will be able to get in and out of anything you want to.I think I forgot to congratulate your Mum on her new job and I hope that she likes it very much.I will send my picture soon, I wouldn't miss your birthday!Kisses,Stella

  3. Well done Ludo – I can open doors, but I never close them! I also know how to operate the electric windows in the car – but I do not get treats for this! Instead D bought a car with 'child locks' !!!! But I leave everything open – so D may take these tips to teach me to close too!LicksSally

  4. You are the smartest doggeh I know, Ludo, with a smart Momma to help you too!!! Sounds like you go to a furry good school to learn all those cool trickies – we are super impressed!!! We have to nudge Momma to send you pix of us heheh!Hugs xoxoxoSammie, Avalon and Ozzie

  5. Oh Ludo! I love the pulling-door trick! I'd love to learn that too (or try!) except all the doors in this house are slidey-ones! ISn't that weird? And I just don't think I'd ever grasp that! :-)Slobbers,Honey the Great Dane

  6. Good job Ludo. One of our setter friends learned that trick and shut the door on his person when she went outside to pick up the newspaper and left the front door ajar!Your friends,Niamh & Ambrose

  7. Great job! You're one smart pup.Thanks for the healing vibes you sent to my mom person, I know that's what got her home so soon.Nubbin wiggles,Oskar

  8. Great work, Ludo! We have a "touch talker" that we can ask for jerky with when GrandPaw Robert puts it down where we can get it. We use our paw or our nose to push the button. Grammy has thought about teaching us about opening and shutting doors, so maybe this will get her busy working on that! πŸ™‚ The Country Corgis

Leave a Reply

