Going to Crufts

Hurro, it me, Ludo!

Mum has beed getting very excited about something happening on the 6th – 9th of March. She says she going to Crufts for the first time ever, and so of course that must mean I be going too!

I packed my bag!

I packed my bag!

Hurrah!

Me and Mum always watch Crufts on the TV together, one year she beed poorly sick from work and we stayed tucked up in bed and watched the live stream from beginning to end. You can find the live stream on their website if you is not lucky enough to get to go.

If you doesn’t know much about Crufts, where has you beed? Crufts says it ‘The World’s Largest Dog Show.’ But it so much more than that. If you love dogs, or even like them just a little bit, then you is sure to find something interesting about Crufts. Since this Mum’s first time actually going she will just has to hope that it lives up to her expectations, since she has kind of decided it like her version of paradise, something along the lines of getting really good and muddy on a really long walk with lots of smells to smell, but not hasing a bath afterwards and then getting a big juicy meaty bone after and snuggling down ON the PILLOWS of the people bed to eat the bone!

I sure hope they has a section like that at Crufts for me!

Wait a minute, what’s that Mum? What do you mean I casnot go!! I is a DOG! Only dogs that have qualified for a place can go, and I did not even try to qualify for a place? Humph!

pre-birthday stuffs

Mum better bring me back lots and lots of things from all those buy stuff for your dog stands which I know be at Crufts. Maybe I will sneak little Scamp into her suitcase and I can has a nice break from him at Grandpawents.

He wouldn't, would he?

He wouldn’t, would he?

So what does selfish MUM be looking forward to most?

Mum always likes watching the group judging and trying to say who she think would win and seeing the huge variety of different dogs you can get.

Dog conformation shows get a lot of criticism from people not in the showing community but Mum supports good breeders and really does think the Kennel Club and Crufts be working hard to make help make improvements in attitudes to us dogs (not that I could improve of course!) and make a change towards breeding ‘healthy, happy dogs’ and not just ones who look an exact certain way. (Mum thinks some exhibitors probably see their dogs as ‘works of art’ and changing how they viewed dogs for years and years wont happen over night.) So she looking forward to meeting different breeds and breeders and seeing really good looking dogs! Doesn’t you go getting any ideas Mum!

Of course, she be looking forward to watching the agility! Crufts has agility competitions for various abilities and sizes and teams. Although I is sure it will make Mum feel really useless seeing how really good handlers do things.

And in tribute to my dearly departed friend Honey, we will of course be watching the Freestyle and heel work to music especially since the wonderful Mary Ray be coming to do a cabaret evening for my dog club soon!

Mum will also check out the obedience, especially the ABC categories and Crufts new Obreedience, trying to get dogs who is not Working sheepdogs or border collies to compete.

And of course, just soaking up the general atmosphere!

Mum gonna be blogging, live from Crufts so you can join in and experience it with her. I will be staying at my Grandpawents cos we live far away from Crufts which held at the NEC arena in Birmingham and Mum and TND is staying in a hotel.

If you would like to buy tickets to go to Crufts too, you can get them here. Let Mum know and she will look out for you!

~Lickies, Ludo!

17 thoughts on “Going to Crufts

  1. I would love to go to Crufts or Westminster some day but especially Crufts, the birthplace of agility. I did go to the Royal Windsor Horse Show when I lived in England. Dogs and horses sort of go together, right?

    • I’ve just been reading about Westminster allowing cross breeds in their agility, it seemed strange since any dog can compete in working events here. Have you heard of Olympia, the national horse show? They have a big agility contest on before the horses. One of my club members came 4th in the ABC’s this year, so they definitely go together!

  2. I’m trying to wrap my head around that whole “she’s going without you” thing. WHAT?!?! That is just wrong, Ludo! I think you need to give her the Harp Seal Look; maybe that will convince her to take you!
    By the way, Maggie fielded your question about that on Monday’s post!
    Play bows,
    Zim

  3. I felt pretty sure there would not be room for you in Mum’s baggage for Crufts but as long as you can see it on the telly it should be at least a little OK. Starting tonight in New York City the Westminster Kennel Club will be having their big show of the year. I love to watch that, but it is on one of the nights the Olympics are on and I like to watch the athletes do their stuff, too. But I am almost decided to watch both nights of Westminster. I wish the good things would not be on the same night. Be good and tell us about Crufts and who the big prize winner is.

    Cheers and hugs,

    Your Pal Stella

  4. We can’t believe you can’t go too. But we hope your Mum has a wonderful time and brings home lots of goodies for you.

    Woos – Phantom, Ciara, and Lightning

  5. Ludo, I hope you and Arran and Mom and TND is all safe in the stormy weather.
    Toodle pip!
    Bertie.
    PS Don’t tell Stella, but of course I heard about the WFT winning the big dog show in the USA. I wasn’t at all surprised. The thing that puzzles me is that they let other breeds win some years…

  6. I can not BELIEVE that you do not get to go LUDO! That is just unfortunate! And wrong! I’m sure you will think of a way to pay your Mum back once she is home..and just think you have all that time to plot! 🙂 I hope Mum has a wonderful time anyway, even without you…she will for sure bring back lots of good smells!

  7. Pingback: The blog this week – Feb 20, 2014 | We Live In A Flat

  8. Pingback: Pet Blogger Challenge | Seaside Shelties

Leave a Reply

