Golf balls and POTP

Hurro,

It me Ludo!

I thinks I is going to have to ask for some Power of the Paw… At the weekend I started feeling a bit ouchie on my tummy and not wanting to move like I usually do. Mum noticed me looking at it and she did not be very happy when she looked at it too. We went off to the vets on Monday and Mum got me to do my bang – upside down trick and my vet looked at my tummy too. The vet likes me because I always march right into his office to see him and he says every other dog has to be dragged in. The vet said some things to Mum about it not being fair and he wished he could cure me.

potplu

Don’t do worryings Mr. Vet. So long as I can still play with my toys I is happy!

I has something bothering me in my groin right by my leg and I is licking it to make it better, I think it grew pretty quickly because Mum checks my belly scars from my cancer surgeries every other day and it did not be there before. The Vet said I definitely had a golf ball in there! Well, I doesn’t know how it got in there but it should not be there! I already heard Mum tell TND that it be an apricot. So I is not sure who be right. Probably me though!

The vet gave me some medicine of antibiotics and pain killer and anti inflammatory and even though I tries to get out of taking the medicines I do like the treat I get after so I put up with it. Even if I do have a bit of an argument with Mum as to whether I should take the yucky syringe medicine. My Bro-fur Arran is so spoiled he thinks he is missing out so he gets a syringe full of water afterwards. I cas not even imagine volunteering to have a syringe put in my mouth!

meds

How about I just has the treat instead?

I IS feeling quite a bit better already (I bet it does not have anything to do with the medicine though, because it not nice taking medicine). Mum says that the lump will not go away because it probably more of that Mast cell cancer stuff but the inflammation and swelling around it already be going down a lot so it not ouchy or affecting my movement right now. My vet said to us that Mast cells control the bodies histamine response and so that why they can be sore and go red and swollen around them. That probably why my original little tumour on my leg got diagnosed as a hot spot at first.

Anyway, I is still carrying on mostly as normal and I want to do all the things I usually do. TND and Mum sometimes look at me sad but most of the time they is just their usual selves. Mum and me and Arran are going camping at an agility show next weekend. I don’t think Mum will let me do agility anymore, especially cos I seem to damage my skin more easily at the moment, but I will still has a fun time camping. I got to go for a little swim in the sea yesterday too.

swimsea

If you has any POTP to spare, please do sendings my way for no more ouchies.

~lickies, Ludo!

pee ess from Mum: Thank you everyone for your continued thoughts and best wishes for Ludo. I’m sorry to put up such a gloomy post. This recent lump has come on fast and has shocked us quite a bit as he was doing so well, with only a very small apparent recurrence of the MCT in the form of a sore in his ear. This is on the other side to his recent surgery, but about where one of his lymph node removal scars, I promised Ludo no more surgery and our vet hasn’t offered it for now, so unless something changes, we just hope for a slowdown of the growth and continue palliative treatment.

pee pee ess from Mum: Does anyone else hate the ‘palatable’ veterinary tablets they seem to be making now? Ludo is fussy anyway and, although incredibly greedy, he will spit things out if he doesn’t like them. Having flavoured tablets that he doesn’t like just makes it easier for him to detect them in whatever food I try to hide them in. He is very adept at eating the surrounding food and spitting out the tablet!

16 thoughts on “Golf balls and POTP

  1. Oh Ludo, we are so sorry that the nasty cancer seems to have come back. Take you medicine, it will help. I hope you have lots of fun on the camping trip and watching agility, maybe you could give Arran some coaching. We will be thinking of you, and sending positive vibes to you your Mum and TND.

  2. Dear Ludo, you have all the POTP we can muster for you. We hope the meds help with the pain and inflammation. Mom uses some Cheese Wiz on a small slice of turkey and rolls up Ciara’s pills. It seems to work well for her.

    Woos – Ciara and Lightning

  3. Merlin: River and me send lots of POTP for you. Glad the yucky vet stuff helps and hope treats you get after are super good. I think you are brave to swim in the sea – I’m not even keen on the bath. Mum says I only like getting my feet wet. Enjoy your camping trip and lots of cuddles from your people!

  4. I used to wrap sliced cheese around the tablets for boots when ever I had to give pills to him like sliced gouda or edam it worked a treat,xx Rachel

    P.S lots of POTP coming your way from both Speedy and myself,xx Rachel and Speedy

  5. Foxy is sending POTP x 4. Hope Mum finds something really tasty to wrap your medicine in, cheese slices are good at rolling things in. Have a lovely time camping and give lots of love to Mum and TND and Arran. xxx

  6. POTP and our love being sent to you sweet boy Ludo!

    Hope the medicine continues to help you out buddy.

  7. hello ludo its dennis the vizsla dog hay i am sending yoo all the vizsla tail wags i kan muster!!! yoo ar wun of my most longest time blog frends and i want yoo to stay happy and helthy for a long time more to come!!! ok bye

  8. Ludo, we missed this post last week, but are sending lots of hasty POTP now, and wishing that you stay comfortable and bathed in the love of your wonderful family.
    Toodle pip!
    Bertie.

  9. Mum just read your Facebook post – great news that ludo is feeling better – he should enjoy his camping trip now. Have a lovely time with Arran and your mum

  10. Katie says she is sending POTP to you even though her silly Mom didn’t read this till AFTER your camping trip. We hope you had fun, you know how much she loves camping, so she’d be excited if it turns out you love camping too! Oh Ludo. You are soooooo cute! I love that picture of you looking super cute. Well. They all have you super cute, but you know what we mean. Hugs Ludo. You’re a very special guy.

Leave a Reply

