Our Last Day Together

Hello everyone,

Well, I said I had some pictures to share of Ludo’s last day with us, and here they are.

We decided a couple of days before that Ludo was in too much pain and not able to enjoy things like he wanted to and so we had booked his vet appointment. He was such a brave boy, right to the end and if anyone had seen him in good moments they would have thought he was mostly fine, maybe just a bit hobby, so we were able to enjoy our last day together. 

I took the day off work and we headed down to the beach with a picnic.

The sun was shining down on us and it was such a beautiful day. The water sparkled in the sunlight, there were other happy dogs around and I let Ludo chase the ball as much as he wanted to. It felt like I was getting a little glimpse of where Ludo would be headed next and I am so happy we got to have that happy day together. I am sure my photos don’t do it justice but I hope they capture a bit of how beautiful it was. 

We started off with an ice cream. The locally made kind and Ludo got a whole cone to himself. He couldn’t believe his luck! (Arran had a little bit in a paper tub)

icecream1

We sat on the rocks and watched the world go by. A whole class room of school children were doing something with geography near by, but they didn’t come too close. Then Ludo sat and watched my lunch be eaten and helped out with the challenging iced bun cake part of it.

It felt like we were the only ones there and I thought of all the fun we’d had exploring these shores together.

lookingout

lookingout2.jpg

I wonder if all those people know what a special day it is today…

ludold

Belly full of ice cream but ever hopeful for more.

Arran explored for a bit on his own, but we managed to get one photo with all 3 of us together. It felt like rather a timeless moment.

togetherforever

But time waits for no Mum, especially not when you have a shetland-rabbit dog, waiting to continue their last adventure!

ludorocks

Let’s go have fun Mum!

beachlast

Wait for it…

arranrun

Catch me if you can, Ludo!

bally

The rock pools looked so inviting. He couldn’t swim but he still enjoyed a nice wade through the water…

rockpoolrockpool2canthaveitludohead

Someone got very sandy! He usually liked to roll around on the dry sand or grass after being in the water to try off his face, but his tumour was stopping him going too far over so I dried him with some tissues.

sandy

I’ve zoomed in on this head shot, because I could see myself in his eye. 🙂

ludointheeye

sea

Running to the horizon

seasideshelties

Seaside shelties

We stayed for hours, I didn’t want it to end, but it had to, as all things must.

ludobeach

My boy

So, he went with sand in his fur and some cheese in his mouth and I think he would have been pleased with that.

Thank you for sticking with me, through these sad days. My friends, what would I have done without you all and your kind words and your loving of Ludo?

I’m not quite sure what to do with the blog. It’s always been his. So I think this will be it for Seaside shelties. Arran still has some things to say, so maybe we’ll start again someplace else. I’ll be sure to let you know if we do. But for now, I guess all we have to do is wish you lots of Lickies, Love Ludo and Mum. (and Arran and TND and Molly and Faline too. xx)

45 thoughts on “Our Last Day Together

  1. Thank you for sharing Ludo’s last adventure with us. He’ll remain in your memory and your heart forever. Run free at Rainbow Bridge handsome boy xx

  2. I’m so glad you had such a special day. A whole ice cream cone! Love it.

    These photos are beautiful, and really capture your special bond and amazing life that you gave to Ludo.

    Thank you for letting all of us love Ludo too.

  3. What a beautiful day – poignant but just how I think he would have chosen – ice cream, play and his family. Like everyone else, glad you shared your life with Ludo – will miss his Hurro greeting and his unique take on life. Hope you are all doing ok. Would love to hear how Arran sees life in over time. Take care and thank you

  4. While these photos are exquisitely beautiful, I wish I could smile. I just can’t. I am also wiping tears away. It is so wonderful that his last day was beautiful, but it is all so unfair. He looked so happy, that’s what is so deceiving with Shelties. He looked so happy. No one could ever tell he was in so much pain. Sending you ((((hugs))) and love, we are so sad. he will be so missed. Thank you for sharing him with all of us, I wish I had found your blog sooner. xoxoxo DakotasDen

  5. Thank you for sharing this beautiful day with us. Mom has tears in her eyes. We will be sad to see the blog come to an end, but be sure to let us know if Arran has his own presentation. So many beautiful memories – we are very happy to have been able to enjoy so many good times with you.

    Hugs and Woos – Ciara, Lightning, and Mom Kathie

  6. Thank you for sharing this day. Whilst I am a Scottish Terrier, I love the same things as Luddo and Arran. Should my Mama have the same opportunity, I would love to have a similar day. We love all the photos, especially the ones that show you reflected in Luddo’s eyes. With much love and sympathy at this wretched time, Skyler Braveheart.
    PS. Please keep your blog. We love seeing and reading about Arran too. He must be so distressed and sad. Our love to him as well.

  7. it,s sad that ludo has gone but you still have arron to make you smile and i think people will wont to know how he is keep the blog going

  8. Thank you for sharing his adventures I’ve laughed and cried and will hold very dearly the memories of one amazing boy 💙

  9. Impossible to look at and read this post without crying for the loss of your beautiful Ludo. I have loved this blog but it is ‘Seaside Shelties’ plural and I quite understand you feel that this chapter should close and Arran should maybe have his own story one day. There is something so special about the voice you Dee gave Ludo that I hope you can preserve the story of his life, as told on this blog, for yourself. What a happy Seaside last day you gave him, Ludo just amazed to have a whole ice-cream and bit of sticky bun and a blissful time in rock pool and sand and just being with Mum. Thank you for sharing him with us all, you gave us a precious treasure. Blessings to you all xx

  10. I thought of Ludo and my Ceilidh today, and cried. Thank you for sharing your last day together, Ludo looked so happy. A whole ice cream cone, I’m sure he enjoyed that immensely. What a wonderful way to spend those last hours just doing those simpe things he loved best. I hope we get to hear Arran’s stories.

  11. What a beautiful way to remember Ludo. I’ve never seen Shelties enjoy water like that what a beautiful site. As for the blog that is something only you can decide. I actually choice Sheltie Times knowing that the blog would likely outlive at least one of the dogs and my reason for writing it was actually as a way of capturing those memories. It is so easy to forget things that you can revisit when you record them.

  12. So many happy memories of Ludo.Thank you so much for sharing them with us right to the end. We will miss Seaside Shelties but understand the need to move on. Oh but I do hope there will be a new blog at some point.
    Love and hugs,
    Gail and Bertie.

  13. hello shelties its dennis the vizsla dog hay run free my old frend ludwig van dog nee ludwig van pup!!! i am glad yoo had sutch a wunderful last day with yore mama and dada and brother!!! we can all see how mutch they luvd yoo and how mutch yoo luvd them!!! enjoy my brother tuckers everlasting rainbo bridj buffay until we all meet agin sum day!!! ok bye

  14. What a grand last day that was – Ludo was indeed one lucky dog to have such a wonderful family. And I bet you felt just as lucky to have such a wonderful dog. If anyone ever had any doubt about the mutual love between you and Ludo, all they would have to do is look at the wonderful pictures of all the great times you shared together. And thank you for sharing it all with us.

    About this blog – it will be difficult no matter which way you go with it – I am wrestling with the same thing. Back in March of this year, my beautiful Shiloh made his journey across the Rainbow Bridge-
    leaving behind his furry sister, Lady Shasta. When I first started the blog it was going to be mostly what I wrote. In October of 2009, I “turned it over to them” and I took a backseat sort of. The blog grew in popularity after that as Team Beaglebratz took over, the team being Lord Shiloh and Lady Shasta. Since he crossed the Bridge, and even tho I suspected it before, I have come to realize that Shiloh was my heart dog. Several dogs had been in my life throughout the years but I had never had the relationship with any of them like I did with Shiloh. Even tho I have accomplished a few of the same things with Lady Shasta it is still not quite the same nor will it ever be. Now I find that at times, I struggle with the blog – it is still much a dog blog with Lady Shasta now the “matriarch of Beaglebratz Manor” but something is missing – not just physical but maybe an emotional tie also – on my part. But then there is the feeling that I owe her that chance to shine, so to speak. Also, I still have the personal goal of 1000 posts by the end of this year – due to my own medical issues this goal took a back seat the last 6 years. Anyway, whether you do decide to continue with this blog at some point or begin a brand new one – I would like to read all about Arran’s adventures.

    And Dear Ludo – enjoy your new life at the Rainbow Bridge – maybe you can meet up with my Angel Shiloh and you two can check out all the great hunting places up there.

    • Thank you for such an understanding comment. I do feel very lucky to have known Ludo. Yes, I’m feeling like I’ll struggle to find Arran’s voice. He does of course have his own wonderful personality and has blogged sometimes but I’ve been on this journey with Ludo for so long it just seems strange. I hope you reach your goal. I’ll leave this on your blog too in case you don’t see it.

  15. That was wonderful,Dee and something to treasure. You are lucky to have it to look back on, such happy memories.

  16. Thanks you for sharing that wonderful last day. How beautiful to think that Ludo lived in the moment and just enjoyed the day with no thought for the looming future that was in your mind and heart. He would have simply revelled in such a lovely time with you. Good luck whatever you decide.

  17. Thank you so much for sharing that last day with us,a truly Special day,I hope that you leave this blog up so that we can come and see Ludos past memories and please let us know how you are all doing from time to time here or to tell us of a new blog,We shall miss Ludo but Arran and you all too,Much love and Hugs,xx Rachel and Speedy

  18. Thank you so much for sharing him with us. I can’t quite read this yet. Tears keep getting in the way. But I looked at the pictures…what a beautiful boy Ludo was and will always be. When I get home I’ll try to read it again. He was special. So are you and your entire family. Hugs to you all.

    • Thank you for the hugs Dawn. I’m sorry to make you sad. I know he’ll have found Imogene and be bothering her for treats. 🙂 Struggling to read the comments honestly but I’m trying to get through them now. 🙂

      • I’m late getting back to reading these comments. I thought the same thing..that Ludo would find Imogene…or Imogene would find Ludo for sure. And that they would be goofing off together, and we’d know they were both safe and happy. And that we’ll see them both again some day.

  19. Hugs to you all. Ludo was one of our furst furiends in Blogville. We r thankful he stuck by us as a friend over the years. He was a great “big brother” to us. He always made us smile!

    That close-up picture where u can see yourself in Ludo’s eye is amazing!

    Run free sweet Ludo over Rainbow Bridge. A new adventure is waiting fur u over the Bridge. We hope there is ice cream and nice beaches over Rainbow Bridge waiting fur u.

  20. Thank you for reply you have just posted. Feel for you – missing them is proportional to how much we love them. I’d love to put a canvas of your headshot of Ludo on my sheltie wall – would you mind? Arran’s new friend looks beautiful – hope you’ll have hours of fun watching them figure each other out. Hugs from Merlin & River

  21. Angel Ludo and mum……oh my goodness we are a tad misty here. Mum God bless you for the amazing day you gave Ludo. Oh to have a day just for him and doing what you knew he would love. I am an I SCREAM lover too and I cannot imagine a better treat than guilt free I SCREAM.
    I tell you the close up of your reflection in Ludo’s eyes..says it all‼️
    Do take your time to reflect…then we hope you will return!
    Hugs Madi and mom

  22. Gorgeous pictures of a happy day together. Thank you for sharing them – Ludo covered in ice cream. Ludo coated with sand. Ludo playing and all of you enjoying the moment. He knew he was loved. A warm hug, purrs and paw taps.

  23. What a beautiful day with beautiful doggies and human!!
    Since we started reading Ludo van Puppy, we’ve seen how his life has been. There are so many great memories you shared with us and now our eyes are wartery. Thank you for sharing this special day. Love each picture.

    Hugs
    Momo & Pinot xo

  24. We are sad to know that Ludo has crossed the bridge. He was such a pawsome Sheltie. We will miss his adventures.

    His last day sounds pawsome and the pawtographs amazing. Your entire pack is in our prayers.

    Dog Speed,

    Sherman & Gemini.

Leave a Reply

