Ludwig Van Puppy

Signing off.

goodbyeludo

Ludo was helped to the bridge at around 6pm yesterday. His cancer was just too advanced for him to be able to enjoy life in the way he wanted so we decided it was time for his pain to end. He went very peacefully, with his family at his side and some cheese in his mouth. I hope he knew how much he was loved and how much he meant to us.

Thank you for sticking with us. We made sure we had a memorable last day so I’ll be sure to post about that soon.

We really miss him.

-Dee.

 

44 thoughts on “Ludwig Van Puppy

  1. Dee, I am new to your blog, and in that shirt time, adored Luddo. I have helped my share of beloved dogs across the bridge. I understand what a wretched time this is. Luddo had his own voice and vibe..such a happy one. Please accept my deepest sympathies on this grievous loss. My pups and late husband will be on the lookout for precious Luddo, to offer him their friendship, and help him get acclimated. With much love, Skyler Braveheart and his Mama

  2. We are going to miss Ludo so much too. H was such a talented and handsome boy!!! We bet he gets some agility fun going on over the Rainbow Bridge. We hope Arran will continue to share his life with us too. Soft woos and gentle hugs from all of us.

    Woos – Ciara and Lightning and Mom Kathie

  3. So, so sorry to hear – any of us who’ve walked this path know how you feel. I was thinking the other day why has this dog and his family that I have never met fact to face had such an impact. I’ve read blogs before but never been moved to answer them, much less shed tears. I think the answer is what a wonderful life you gave him and the chance to let his character shine. Thank you for sharing him with us. Just as you’ll be hugging Arran, I’ll be giving cuddling Merlin and River a bit tighter tonight and thinking of you all. Merlin, River and their Mum, Margaret

    • Thank you for commenting and thinking of us. I’m so glad that I was able to convey Ludo’s personality through the blog and I really think he will live on through it. Hugs to Merlin and River.

  4. Dee, you gave Ludo the most wonderful voice and persona, it was just so easy to fall in love with him. Then you gave him the kindest gift of all when you helped him to the Bridge. Stella and I will miss him very much and send sympathy to you and your family. Having had to do this, we know just how heart-wrenching it is.

    Hugs,
    Jo and Stella

  5. I thought that the beautiful photo you posted on Facebook of you and Ludo was probably the last and I felt such sadness that you were going to say goodbye to such a special member of your family. Shelties are all so special but Ludo had a personality that transcended the ‘norm’. Thank you Dee for sharing him with us. We send love to you Dee and Richard and dear Arran and to your other family members who will miss Ludo. Blessings from Anna, Bob and Foxy xxx

  6. Sending hugs and snuggles your way. So very sorry for your loss. Ludo gave us so many smiles…

  7. There are just never the right words in times like this – but know we will all miss him so very much. Run free sweet Ludo.

  8. I hope and pray that knowing Ludo is no longer in pain and running like he use to over the meadows beyond the Bridge will bring you some smiles and peace. Making this decision is never easy for us humans but it is the kindest and best gift we can give to our furry companions. And I am sure that Ludo knew he was loved by all of you.

    Ludo, you were a brave soul and a fighter all the way – R.I.P. dear boy, you have earned it.

  9. So very sorry to this terrible news about your beautiful boy. He most definitely will have known how much you loved him & did everything you could for him & much more than many would do. When you get that pain in your heart, it is him wagging his tail just to let you know he will always be there with you. It’s the hardest thing to do to help your friend over the bridge but you know it’s the right one. My heart goes out to you, though we ‘ve only met through Ludo’s lovely blog.

  10. So sorry to hear of Ludo’s passing. I am sure that Sam was there to greet him and show him where all the cool dogs hang out.

    Pippen

  11. Dear Dee
    Of one thing we are quite sure. Ludo was one of the best loved dogs and he absolutely knew how much you loved him. His blog in his wonderful, funny, distinctive voice has entertained us for years. Although your post today did not come as a surprise, and we know you did the kindest thing, we still, selfishly, wish he could have stayed with us a while longer.
    Sending love and hugs,
    Gail and Bertie.

  12. I am so sorry that you had to make the final decision but I know from experience that even though it hurts so much right now that it was the right decision since it was made from love. Ludo had the most wonderful life with you and you let us all share in your adventures together through your blog. Thank you for that. They say that one is never really gone as long as you’re remembered and Ludo will certainly be remembered for a long long time.

  13. Oh my heart is just breaking. He was young. That’s just not fair. I never realized he was that young. I wish I could be there to help you, I am so deeply, deeply sorry. We didn’t get to know him as long as many others, but once we found your blog we so enjoyed him. I am sure he was happy, how could he not be having you as his pawrent? You gave him a beautiful, beautiful life. God bless. Sending you comforting gentle ((((hugs))) and love DakotasDen

  14. We are certain he knew how much he was loved. We know you’ll miss him for a long time, but the memories will give you a smile in the future. Hugs from us.

  15. Oh, Ludo!!!! Our mom is leaking tears for you. She always remembers you as “Ludo Van Puppy” – the most handsome Sheltie she’s ever seen!
    You had such an adventure-filled life! Your walks and travels took you to some of the most beautiful parts of the world! You were special. And very, very much loved. That love will never go away.
    Rest in peace, dear Ludo.
    Cammie, Mags, and our mom

    • thank you, I know we didn’t want to lose him so soon but I am sure he was happy with the life he had. You were one of the first bloggers to say hello to us in DWB’s.

  16. Oh Ludo, I’m so sad that you had to leave us much too soon. You were one of my very first blog friends, and will always hold a special place in my heart. You’re the one who brought all of us “tricky t-day” and “crispmas” 🙂

    We will miss your “lickies” dear friend.

  17. Oh Ludo, you touched so many. We will all miss you little buddy. Till we see you again….. I will miss seeing your “Hurro.” Hope you don’t mind that some of us talk to you once in awhile anyway. And I’m pretty sure your mum-in-law, Morgan’s mom, has met you by now. Take good care of each other, OK? Kisses from Katie and me.

  18. There isn’t an easy way to say good-bye to an old friend, family member, devoted companion, is there? We are teary for the loss of your handsome Ludo. We have enjoyed his adventures. Your love for each other came though the pages of the blog. Hugs, purrs and paw taps of comfort.

  19. We are so sorry. Hugs and love being sent your way, for both you and your husband.

    Monty, Harlow and Ramble

  20. I’ve stayed away from my blog feed for days, because I was afraid to read that Ludo’s time had come. I congratulate you on your courage in helping him through this last door. My thoughts have been with you day and night lately, and I’ll continue to think of you.

  21. We’re so sorry for your loss, Dee! We’d always loved reading your blog since Ludo was a puppy like you, Aran. Ludo will be missed by all of us. Run free, Ludo!!

    Momo, Pinot and mom xo

Leave a Reply

